top of page


2015 - The Seasons of the Christian Year

The major categories into which the Church Year is divided include:


     Christmas (December 24, 2014 through January 5, 2015)

     Epiphany (January 6)

     Time after Epiphany (ordinary* time)

     Lent (February 18 - Ash Wednesday, marks the first day of Lent and March 29 - Palm Sunday, marks the last day of Lent)

     Easter (April 5 - Easter Sunday markes the first day of Easter and May 24 - Pentecost, marks the last day of the Easter season)

     Time after Pentecost (ordinary* time)

     Advent (November 29 - The beginning of the ecclesiastical year on the Sunday closest to November 30)


* the word “ordinary” as it is used here does not mean “unexceptional.” Rather, it is derived from the root “ordinal,” meaning “counted” time. So, weeks are counted after Epiphany and Pentecost.

bottom of page